Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

All technical issues here please :)

Moderators: gail, phil1908

Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby RookieOne » Sun 27 Jul 2008 22:11

In all areas of the game brown patches pop up randomly for a split second. My drivers are all updated. I'm using a Nvidia 8600 GTS. Has anybody else had this problem?
RookieOne
Youki
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat 26 Jul 2008 14:38

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby stone » Tue 29 Jul 2008 07:07

Hi
Could you make screenshot and post it here?
Some additional information could be useful: what is your operating system, do you have all patches installed?
stone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun 25 Sep 2005 07:59

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby Jipax » Wed 30 Jul 2008 17:31

I found this topic looking for the same graphical problem, i have it too.
I have a similar graphic card, nvidia 8500 gt, and my pc handles the game well apart from this glitch, which doen't happen only in brown objects, it happens in most objects.

It's like the object is pulled or something for a split second like RookieOne said. I installed the patches, and I'm using full installation, don't know how to solve it, and it is quite annoying.

Hope you can help

(I tried to take a picture but i can't, this glitch happens with some frequency, but only last a fraction of second so i can't time it right xS).
Jipax
Youki
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 30 Jul 2008 17:12

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby stone » Wed 30 Jul 2008 18:33

What is your operating system?
stone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun 25 Sep 2005 07:59

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby Jipax » Wed 30 Jul 2008 18:48

I have dual core: 2,8 GHz and 2,66 GHz, and 1gb ram.
The game runs smoothly apart from that glitch. Oh and i reinstalled the game just in case, but the problem still remained.
Jipax
Youki
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 30 Jul 2008 17:12

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby stone » Wed 30 Jul 2008 19:05

I meant version of Windows :)
stone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun 25 Sep 2005 07:59

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby RookieOne » Wed 30 Jul 2008 20:18

I have Windows XP Pro by the way. I'm guessing the game has some unresolved errors with certain graphics cards.
RookieOne
Youki
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat 26 Jul 2008 14:38

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby Jipax » Wed 30 Jul 2008 22:14

lol I have Windows XP too xP
But I guess it's a graphic card problem, which is weird, since both are good and can support the game easily, appart from the glitch.
Jipax
Youki
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed 30 Jul 2008 17:12

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby stone » Thu 31 Jul 2008 05:41

Thing is that Syberia is an old game and this can cause problems when it comes to new hardware and software. In case of such games newest drivers do not always mean better.
Since you are both using windows xp try one thing. When you click right mouse button on Syberia icon go into Properties and that then go to Compatibility tab. Try changing graphics settings there and see if this helps.
stone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun 25 Sep 2005 07:59

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby NiniendoLeibowitz » Thu 31 Jul 2008 15:33

I remembered playing this game on XP back then, so I'm not necessarily sure XP is the cause of this problem. Somethings to remember is to make sure that your game is patched to the latest version.
User avatar
NiniendoLeibowitz
VIP
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu 22 Sep 2005 00:58

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby phil1908 » Thu 31 Jul 2008 19:34

I have no problem with the game on XP :rotf:
User avatar
phil1908
Site Admin
 
Posts: 817
Joined: Sun 18 Sep 2005 06:33
Location: Brussels, Belgium

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby stone » Fri 1 Aug 2008 06:13

Which graphic card do you have and which version of drivers?
stone
Site Admin
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Sun 25 Sep 2005 07:59

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby NiniendoLeibowitz » Fri 1 Aug 2008 06:24

Back then, I used Radeon x800 pro 256 mb for Syberia 2. Syberia 1... umm... I think it was a GeForce 2 MX400. Both using non updated graphics drivers, e.g. out of the box drivers.
User avatar
NiniendoLeibowitz
VIP
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Thu 22 Sep 2005 00:58

Re: Syberia 1 Graphic Errors

Postby Pifou » Mon 25 Aug 2008 19:35

Hmm...
Niniendo & Phil are right... this probably not a XP problem but a graphic card problem...
1) Send us your dxdiag log :
- Start > Execute > dxdiag
- Save all informations

2) Try to reduce performances of your video card :
- Right click on your board screen > properties > Parameters

3) Launch the program as windows 2000 program :
- Start > Find > Syberia.exe
- Right click on it > Properties > Compatibility
- Check box : Execute this program in compatibility mode for...
- Choose windows 2000

++
pif ;)
Image
User avatar
Pifou
Shaman
 
Posts: 1426
Joined: Sat 17 Sep 2005 15:33
Location: France


Return to EN - Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron